Queens Botanical Garden evolved from the 5-acre “Gardens on Parade” exhibit showcased at the 1939–1940 World’s Fair. Officially opening as “The Queens Botanical Garden Society” in 1946 after local residents saved and expanded the original exhibit, the Garden remained at the original World’s Fair site until 1961, when it was moved to its current location on Main Street in Flushing. Among the original plantings taken from the 1939 site are two blue atlas cedars that frame the iconic tree gate sculpture at the Garden’s Main Street entrance today. QBG has become a 39-acre oasis in one of New York City’s most bustling and diverse neighborhoods and is unlike any other botanical garden in the world.
CLICK HERE to view our Visitor Guide and Map.
Take a look at some of our gardens in the interactive map below:
Photo Credit (Header): Anne Tan-Detchkov